Photo: Kylie Coutts

Angel Olsen shares “It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)” and announces new box set – watch her unbox it

In the last two years, Angel Olsen has released the albums All Mirrors and Whole New Mess respectively; a couplet that was originally conceived as a double album. They will now be shared in something akin to their original vision when she releases Song of the Lark and Other Far Memories, a vinyl box set featuring both albums plus a new disc of outtakes and remixes, along with a 40-page booklet, on May 7, which will be limited to 3000 physical copies.

Olsen says: “It feels like part of my writing has come back from the past, and another part of it was waiting to exist.”

We’ve also been treated to one of the previously unreleased songs, “It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)”. While Whole New Mess had acoustic versions of All Mirrors‘ orchestral songs, “It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)” is something like the orchestral version of the acoustic song that was exclusive to the stripped-down album. Not so different from the Whole New Mess version initially, “It’s Every Season” builds subtly from the skeletal start with elegiac woodwinds hovering in the background, until it reaches a gorgeously regal and jazz-inflected peak in its final moments.

Listen to “It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)” below, and beneath you can watch Olsen’s unboxing and introduction of Song of the Lark and Other Far Memories.

Angel Olsen’s Song of the Lark and Other Far Memories arrives on May 7 via Jagjaguwar (pre-order/save). The tracklist for the bonus disc, Far Memory is:

  1. All Mirrors (Johnny Jewel Remix)
  2. New Love Cassette (Mark Ronson Remix)
  3. More Than This (Roxy Music cover)
  4. Smaller
  5. It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)
  6. Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling)

You can find Angel Olsen on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.