Sonny and the Sunsets announce new album; share new track

Sonny Smith, the self-proclaimed godfather of rock ‘n roll, is back at it again in 2012, this time with a new record label and a sad tale. Longtime Companion is out June 26th on Polyvinyl, the band released 2011’s Hit After Hit on Fat Posum, and tells the story of the heartbreak and lose following Smith’s divorce from his wife of ten years. It’s a heavy subject matter, and paired with the more country-folk styling of the record, it could be an interesting and dark look at the band. You can also stream a new song from the album below, entitled “Pretend You Love Me,” and take a look at the track list as well.

Longtime Companion June 26th : Polyvinyl
1. I Was Born
2. Dried Blood
3. Children of the Beehive
4. Pretend You Love Me
5. Year of the Cock
6. Rhinestone Sunset
7. I See the Void
8. Sea of Darkness
9. My Mind Messed Up
10. Longtime Companion