Rick Hyde shares “Alone” alongside Benny the Butcher and G Herbo, prepares debut project

Griselda keeps making moves. Beyond Conway the Machine’s recent establishment of his own Drumwork label, Benny the Butcher previously began his own imprint, Black Soprano Family (BSF). Having released their debut project as a collective alongside DJ Drama (now majorly back in vogue thanks to his presence on Tyler, the Creator’s Call Me If You Get Lost), Gangsta Grillz X BSF Da Respected Sopranos, the first solo project from Benny’s proteges came from Heem in the form of Long Story Short.

Now, labelmate Rick Hyde is due his moment. Having previously announced his debut project, Plates 2 along with first single “Hustler’s Prayer” alongside Heem, he’s now returned with an even grander second offering, the blistering “Alone”, which sees him trading bars with none other than G Herbo and the big BSF boss himself, Benny.

Plates 2 boasts a considerable tracklist, featuring appearances from cohorts Westside Gunn, Benny, and resident Griselda poet Keisha Plum, as well as a slew of exterior guests, from A$AP Ferg to Skyzoo to Jay Worthy, not to mention production from The Alchemist, Daringer, Harry Fraud, to the late DJ Shay.

Speaking of Shay, a father figure to Hyde and many more, the project’s release date is no coincidence, and bears deep importance to him and the entire Griselda family. He explains, “Shay cultivated the Buffalo sound back in the 90’s. He was actually one of the first artists to actually have a record deal outside of Rick James. Releasing my debut BSF project on the anniversary of his passing is both a tribute, and a thank you to Shay.

Check out “Alone” below, along with the project’s tracklisting and full credits beneath.

Rick Hyde’s Plates 2 comes out on August 20. The tracklist is:

  1. Plates 2 Intro feat Tearz (prod SNLC)
  2. NOVA feat Westside Gunn (prod Daringer)
  3. Alone feat Benny The Butcher & G Herbo (prod DJ L)
  4. Pandemic Flow feat A$AP Ferg (prod The Alchemist)
  5. Booney On The Phone (Interlude)
  6. Hustlers Prayer feat Heem (prod The Soulmonsters)
  7. Glorious Morning feat Benny The Butcher & Keisha Plum (prod Tre Eiht)
  8. Sarah Freestyle [prod Chopz & Skrilla)]
  9. When I Go feat Killa Kyleon [prod Sha Money XL]
  10. Momma Luv [prod SNLC]
  11. The Come Up (Interlude) [prod Stan Da Man]
  12. Red Moon Rising feat Jay Worthy & Chase Fetti [prod Bohemia Lynch]
  13. Blasphemy (Interlude) [prod Buda & Grandz]
  14. Enrique feat Meyhem Lauren [prod Harry Fraud]
  15. Skid Row feat El Camino & T.F. [prod DJ M80]
  16. Slow Eddie ft. Skyzoo & Grafh [prod DJ Shay]
  17. Black Sinatra Outro feat Benny The Butcher & Heem [prod DJ Shay]

You can find Rick Hyde on Twitter and Instagram.