Photo: R Gardiner

Open Mike Eagle teams with R.A.P. Ferreira, Still Rift and Video Dave for “Multi-Game Arcade Cabinet”

Open Mike Eagle has returned with “Multi-Game Arcade Cabinet”, his first new single of 2022, which comes ahead of his European tour dates starting next week. The new song was produced by Illingsworth and features friends R.A.P. Ferreira, Still Rift and Video Dave riding a vibe, as Mike explains:

“My apartment was a dream dungeon. Myself and my two brothers Dave and Rift started making product in my dining room every week. One day R.A.P. Ferreira and a mystery brother came through. We put on an Illingsworth beat and we all made product together. The mystery brother’s product made us all cry so we took his part off and slid the rest back together. We did something different with the mystery brother’s part. You’ll understand later when we show you the tape.”

“Multi-Game Arcade Cabinet” features a luminously trilling and easy-going beat, that hints at those classic arcade sounds. More likely the name is because each of the four rappers steps in and just does their thing, not on any specific theme – just rhyming however they feel. There’s a myriad of different styles and highlights, which is just like one of those old arcade games – something for everyone, each providing its own joy. It is Open Mike who steals the show though, especially his incredulity about being on a playlist called “Read the Mint Leaves” that’s just him and Mitski.

Take a listen to “Multi-Game Arcade Cabinet” below or on streaming platforms.

Open Mike Eagle has also announced a European tour saying: “Me and Dave are going to Europe and Rift might pop up too. Whenever Rift is there we’ll stop what we’re doing and show everybody some of the tape. There are a lot of new products. I cried making [them].”

The dates are:

01 April – Hope & Ruin, Brighton, UK 
02 April – Jazz Cafe, London, UK 
03 April – Norwich Arts Centre, Norwich, UK 
05 April – The Hare & Hounds, Birmingham, UK 
06 April – The Fleece, Bristol, UK 
07 April – YES, Manchester, UK 
08 April – CCA, Glasgow, UK 
09 April – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, UK 
10 April – Whelan’s, Dublin, Ireland 
14 April – Simplon, Groningen, Netherlands 
15 April – Bird, Rotterdam, Netherlands 
16 April – Ekko, Utrecht, Netherlands 
18 April – Urban Spree, Berlin, Germany 
19 April – La Bellevilloise, Paris, France 
20 April – Krosset, Oslo, Norway 
22 April – KPH Volume, Copenhagen, Denmark 
24 April – Bar Brooklyn, Stockholm, Sweden 

You can find Open Mike Eagle on Bandcamp, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.