In January we reported that Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit would release their new album Here We Rest on April 12 via Lightning Rod Records, and yesterday they released “Codeine” from the album as a free download (in exchange for an e-mail address, that is). “Codeine” is the fourth track on Here We Rest and it is definitely among the strongest that Isbell’s written since his departure from Drive-By Truckers in 2007, and it’s probably my favourite song from 2011 so far. Download it below, and check out the beautiful album cover for Here We Rest above, which is painted by 400 Unit guitarist Browan Lollar.