Since their 2010 album Congratulations, we hadn’t heard much rumbling from the MGMT camp in terms of new material for quite a while, until this year’s Record Store Day when they released a new song “Alien Days” as a limited edition release. This gave us an indication that they were hard at work, and now we have the details of the fruits of that labour.

MGMT will release their self-titled third album on September 17th. MGMT is 10 tracks long, featuring “Alien Days” as its opening track, a cover of 1960s psych band Faine Jade’s song “Introspection” and 8 other brand new songs that results in “a diverse and powerful collection of 10 songs that directly mirrors the duo’s encompassing surrealist view of the everyday.”

The release will be accompanied by “a variety of unique visual elements to accompany and illuminate the new music via “the Optimizer”.” Wondering what that is? Apparently it was produced by Alejandro Crawford, who has previously worked with MGMT on their live show and it “provides listeners of the album with a simultaneously aural & optical listening experience featuring video & CGI work by Andrew Benson, Emilio Gomariz, Geoffrey Lillemon, and Chris Timms. “the Optimizer” is part of an enhanced album package available on all commercial formats.”

For those who are just interested in the music, the next song we’re going to hear will be “Your Life Is A Lie,” which should be released with a video in the coming weeks.

Check out MGMT‘s track list and opening track “Alien Days” below.

Track list:

01. Alien Days
02. Cool Song No. 2
03. Mystery Disease
04. Introspection
05. Your Life Is a Lie
06. A Good Sadness
07. Astro-Mancy
08. I Love You Too, Death
09. Plenty Of Girls In the Sea
10. An Orphan Of Fortune