Photo: Jorre Janssens

Charlotte Adigéry explores lockdown with a lover on “Bear With Me (and I’ll stand bare before you)” from new DEEWEE label comp

It’s been something of a wait for fans Charlotte Adigéry. Bursting onto the scene with 2019’s more-than-promising Zandoli EP, she’s been relatively quiet since.

All that is set to change. DEEWEE, her home label (run by 2manydjs/Soulwax), is preparing to a release a special compilation: Foundations. Special, that is, because it’s far more than a loose, haphazardly gathered set of tracks to market their signees, Foundations was designed as a cohesive audio experience. Boasting exclusive tracks from Adigéry, Movulango and James Righton, the release’s 27 tracks were designed and sequenced with care for one another, akin to a proper, well thought out DJ set.

To kick off anticipation for the compilation, due May 7th, DEEWEE has released Adigéry’s first proper single since 2019, the bouncy exploration of a relationship on lockdown that is “Bear With Me (and I’ll stand bare before you),” which she created with her partner Bolis Pupul.

Adigéry says on the song:

The song is about being confined thus confronted to the way we live.
The cruel irony of having the privilege of standing still, questioning and observing my life in all safety while others are fighting for theirs.
Bolis and I are making a time capsule, writing songs that tell the story of life in 2020.
We believe 2020 has been such a cornerstone for the 21st century.

“‘They say there’s dolphins in Venice’ is a symbol for the times we live in.
An internet hoax that gave people hope. A naïve hope for a utopian future, now that we’re all locked in our homes. A sign that we are all aware of the negative impact we have on the planet but still seem to remain paralyzed.

On the other hand the song is about not being able to run away from yourself and being confronted with your relationship to yourself and others.
Not hovering from one busy schedule to another, never looking back.

Listen below or on streaming platforms.

DEEWEE’s Foundations compilation arrives on May 7 (pre-order). Track list:

1. Charlotte Adigéry – Bear With Me (and I’ll stand bare before you) *exclusive track
2. Laima – Disco Pregnancy (Tonal + Rhythmical)
3. Each Other – Burn It Down
4. Bolis Pupul – Moon Theme
5. James Righton – Release Party *exclusive track
6. Die Verboten – Aquarius
7. Soulwax – Heaven Scent feat. Chloe Sevigny
8. EMS Synthi 100 – Movement 6
9. Soulwax – Conditions of a Shared Belief
10. Soulwax – Close to Paradise
11. Asa Moto – Kifesh
12. Laila – The Other Me (DEEWEEDUB)
13. Asa Moto – Wanowan Efem
14. Charlotte Adigéry – Paténipat
15. Klanken – Drie
16. Phillipi – 9000
17. Movulango – Leave *exclusive track
18. Laima – Home ε|
19. Emmanuelle – Italove
20. Sworn Virgins – Take Your Lady
21. Phillipi & Rodrigo – Paciencia
22. Extra Credit – Drive Me
23. Bolis Pupul – Wéi?
24. Soulwax – Essential Eleven
25. Sworn Virgins – Fifty Dollar Bills
26. Phillipi & Rodrigo – Retrogrado
27. Future Sound Of Antwerp – Tom Cruise, Scientologist

You can find Charlotte Adigéry on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.