Phosphorescent’s last album, Here’s To Taking It Easy was one of our favourite albums of 2010, so it’s with great excitement that we bring you news that the band will be releasing the follow up on March 19th of next year. Matthew Houck and his band have recorded a 10 track album entitled Muchacho, to be released on Dead Oceans.

The reason for the relatively long time in producing a follow up is due to the fact that Houck’s life “fell apart” in the writing process, according to an interview with Spin. Houck decided to escape to a hut on the beach in Mexico to write the songs, before returning to New York to record. As a result, the album is said to be more raw, with some “weird production” that marks a departure from the sounds of Here’s To Taking It Easy.

This can certainly be heard in the first cut to be released from Muchacho, a song called “Song For Zula,” which you can hear below. The track implements electronic effects, programmed drums and heavenly violins skirting the outside of the soundscape. Stream the track below and check the track list for Muchacho beneath.

Muchacho track list:

01. Sun, Arise! (An Invocation, An Introduction)
02. Song for Zula
03. Ride On/Right On
04. Terror in the Canyons (The Wounded Master)
05. A Charm/ A Blade
06. Muchacho’s Tune
07. A New Anhedonia
08. The Quotidian Beasts
09. Down to Go
10. Sun’s Arising (A Koan, An Exit)