Phish announce new album Joy


Vermont’s finest Phish will release their first studio album in five years (aka since their breakup at the Coventry Festival), titled Joy. The album will be released on JEMP Records later this year, on a date to be announced. You can download the closer “Time Turns Elastic” on iTunes now, if you can’t wait that long.

The tracklist looks potentially exciting, as well as the fact that the band worked with Steve Lillywhite, producer of quite possibly their finest studio effort, Billy Breathes. Containing 10 songs, we’ve heard every single one of them in the live format already except for “I’ve Been Around”. Opener “Twenty Years Later” was played once, at Jones Beach in Wantagh, New York. The other songs (particularly “Kill Devil Falls” and “Ocelot”) made several appearances on tour. A surprise is that “Alaska”, performed in Asheville, North Carolina and known by fans, isn’t to be seen on this tracklist, unless it’s now called “I’ve Been Around”.

Tracklist and late summer tour (announce a fall/winter one already!) dates after the jump.

The track listing for Joy is as follows:

01. Twenty Years Later
02. Backwards Down the Number Line
03. Stealing Time From the Faulty Plan
04. Light
05. Joy
06. Sugar Shack
07. Ocelot
08. Kill Devil Falls
09. I’ve Been Around
10. Time Turns Elastic

Phish’s (sold out) Late summer tour:

07.30 Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre
07.31 Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre
08.01 Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre
08.02 Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre
08.05 Mountain View, CA – Shoreline Amphitheatre
08.07 George, WA – The Gorge Amphitheatre
08.08 George, WA – The Gorge Amphitheatre
08.11 Chicago, IL – Toyota Park
08.13 Darien Lake, NY – Darien Lake PAC
08.14 Hartford, CT – The Comcast Theatre (aka Meadows Music Theatre)
08.15 Columbia, MD – Merriweather Post Pavilion
08.16 Saratoga Springs, NY -SPAC