Photo: Julia Johnson

Orville Peck releases four new songs as Chapter 1 of his new album

Alt-country icon Orville Peck will release his second album Bronco on April 8 through Columbia. In a model recently seen by the likes of Beach House, he will release the songs from the album in small batches or Chapters, with the first – comprising four tracks – out today.

Of the album, Peck says: “This is my most impassioned and authentic album to date. I was inspired by country rock, 60s & 70s psychedelic, California and bluegrass with everything being anchored in country. Bronco is all about being unrestrained and the culmination of a year of touring, writing in isolation and going through and ultimately emerging from a challenging personal time.”

The four new tracks display a keener reliance on the templates of his forebears, but delivered with his unmistakably rich voice. There’s references to classic country locales all around the States, also plenty of humour in there – especially towards those who don’t rate Elvis.

Watch the video for opening track “C’Mon Baby, Cry” below then stream all four new tracks beneath – or on your preferred streamer.

Orville Peck’s new album Bronco will be out on April 8 through Columbia. You can find him on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and TikTok.