Matador Records have announced that Sonic Youth frontman Thurston Moore will release a new solo album, his fourth, this May 23rd. The album is called Demolished Thoughts and features production from Thurston’s long-time friend Beck Hansen. The sycophantic press release from Matador claims that “Demolished Thoughts burnishes Thurston’s rep as a classic songwriter in ways we never anticipated when this album was first being talked about last year.”

Additional performers who appear on the album are Samara Lubelski who plays violin and Mary Lattimore who plays harp, which combined with Moore’s distinguished guitar work will hopefully make for a very interesting listen.

You can see the cover art for Demolished Thoughts above. The Matablog promises a pre-release MP3 very soon, so hopefully we will bring that to you in due course.