Death Cab For Cutie get lead single

“New Moon” soundtrack finally revealed

New Moon soundtrack

After a significant build-up period of increasingly bizarre, unlikely rumours (Death Cab? Grizzly Bear? Thom Yorke?), Stephenie Meyer has finally put the uncertainty to rest, posting a finalized list of songs (later confirmed by Atlantic Records) that will appear on the Twilight: New Moon soundtrack, the sure-to-be-massive sequel to the ridiculously popular Twilight movie.

It turns out the rumours were true. All of them.  Not only does the soundtrack feature appearances from the likes of Grizzly Bear, Death Cab For Cutie, Lykke Li, The Killers, and yes, Thom Yorke, but all of the songs are original and exclusive to the film’s soundtrack.  Which means yet another Thom Yorke-related track release this year.  Muse offer an alternative version of a track from their recent The Resistance, Bon Iver & St. Vincent collaborate for a track, and Death Cab For Cutie’s “Meet Me On The Equinox” has been released as the lead single for the soundtrack.

The release date is set for October 20 through Chop Shop/Atlantic.  The album is available now for preorder in 4 different editions, including a box set for $500.

New Moon Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
1. Death Cab for Cutie – Meet Me On the Equinox
2. Band of Skulls – Friends
3. Thom Yorke – Hearing Damage
4. Lykke Li – Possibility
5. The Killers – A White Demon Love Song
6. Anya Marina – Satellite Heart
7. Muse- I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)
8. Bon Iver & St. Vincent- Rosyln
9. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Done All Wrong
10. Hurricane Bells – Monsters
11. Sea Wolf- The Violet Hour
12. OK Go – Shooting the Moon
13. Grizzly Bear – Slow Life
14. Editors – No Sound But the Wind
15. Alexandre Desplat – New Moon (The Meadow)