As My Morning Jacket’s touring duties for last year’s album Circuital draw to a close, their ever-productive lead man has announced the release of an album under his own name – his first full length as a solo artist, following on from a brief EP he released a few years ago. The album, entitled Regions of Light and Sound of God, will be released through ATO Records on February 5th – you can see the cover art above.

James says of the album:

“I wanted the album to sound like it came from a different place in time. Perhaps sounding as if it were the past of the future, if that makes any sense—like a hazy dream that a fully-realized android or humanoid capable of thought might have when it reminisces about the good old days of just being a simple robot.”

It seems like quite a project for anyone to realize, but Jim James certainly has the talent to do it – and since he has played every instrument on the album, and engineered it himself, then it should truly match his vision.

You can use the widget below to get your first taste of Regions of Light and Sound of God through the free download of the track “Know Til Now,” and the full track list is beneath.

Regions of Light and Sound of God track list:

01. State of the Art (A.E.I.O.U)
02. Know Til Now
03. Dear One
04. A New Life
05. Exploding
06. Of the Mother Again
07. Actress
08. All Is Forgiven
09. God’s Love to Deliver