Photo: Bibiana Reis

Inter Arma share their version of Neil Young’s “Southern Man” and announce covers album

Richmond metal band Inter Arma released their excellent Sulphur English last year, but are making a quick return with an eight-track album of covers called Garbers Days Revisited, which is set to be released on July 10. Drummer T.J. Childers says:

“Hunter Thompson used to punch out pages of Ernest Hemingway on his typewriter just to get the feeling of what it was like to write that way. The same can be said for anyone learning a great cover song: there’s a lot to be deduced from the information there. Actually learning the songs can lead to inspirational, new musical ideas.”

The first from the set to be shared is their cover of Neil Young’s classic “Southern Man”. Already a red-hot guitar epic originally, Inter Arma bring their extra muscle to this jam and use it to titanic effect. While this version of “Southern Man” does start out in a sing-song vocal, it isn’t long before Mike Paparo’s signature growl takes over, moving it quite far from the original. Then, as Inter Arma proceed to the song’s double-drumming, doom-laden riff finale, they make “Southern Man” a wild party all of their own.

Listen to “Southern Man” below, and beneath see the full list of covers that will appear on Garbers Days Revisited.

Inter Arma’s Garbers Days Revisited comes out on July 10 through Relapse Records. The track list is:

1. Scarecrow (Ministry Cover)
2. Southern Man (Neil Young Cover)
3. Hard Times (Cro-Mags Cover)
4. March Of The Pigs (Nine Inch Nails Cover)
5. The Girl Who Lives On Heaven Hill (Hüsker Dü Cover)
6. In League With Satan (Venom Cover)
7. Runnin Down A Dream (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers Cover)
8. Purple Rain (Prince Cover)