After the great success of their second album Father, Son, Holy Ghost, Girls seemed to be riding high as one of indie rock’s royalty. This all came crashing down when singer Christopher Owens shockingly and suddenly announced that his association with Girls was over back in July.

Since then there has been little news out of Owens, but now Girls fans have an exciting new release to look forward to: his solo album. The record is titled Lysandre and is set for release through Fat Possum on January 15th.

The story behind the album is a typically heartfelt one, with the title being for “a girl he met whilst in France for a festival performance, Lysandre.” The album was “written, recorded and sequenced as a complete narrative – was inspired by the events of Girls’ first ever tour in the summer of 2008. Owens describes the record as: “A coming of age story, a road trip story, a love story.”

Owens has set up a new official website from which you can pre-order the album. You can see the track list below and stream the opening double salvo “Lysandre’s Theme / Here We Go” here on Soundcloud.

Lysandre track list:

01. Lysandre’s Theme
02. Here We Go
03. New York City
04. A Broken Heart
05. Here We Go Again
06. Riviera Rock
07. Love Is In The Ear Of The Listener
08. Lysandre
09. Everywhere You Knew
10. Closing Theme
11. Part Of Me (Lysandre’s Epilogue)