Isha Dipika Walia

700 Bliss blast Lafawndah-featured single “Totally Spies”, announce debut album

700 Bliss is the incandescent electronic project of founders Moor Mother and DJ Haram, pushing underground club music to thrilling new directions. These two Philly instigators released the boundary-shattering EP Spa 700 on Don Giovanni back in 2018, and finally, they’ve rekindled their creative powers for upcoming full-length Nothing To Declare, which is coming out on Hyperdub May 27th.

Originated in Philly’s vibrant fringe club scenes, 700 Bliss is saturated with DJ Haram’s hard-hitting beat wizardry, dissonant Middle Eastern melodies and Moor Mother’s everlasting, raging voice; delivering a heartfelt message on black American history and powerful new perspectives. Nothing To Declare expands the duo’s vocabulary of experimental hip hop, jazz, noise, punk and raw club music, and also features several skits. Furthermore, there are contributions from Orion Sun, Muqata’a, Alli Logout, M Téllez and Ase Manual

The album’s lead single “Totally Spies” may reference the colorful Anime cartoon by the same name, it’s a menacing, cavernous piece of music (“mutant grime”) that begs to be heard at max volume in some smoke-filled, sporadically strobe-lit basement. Lafawndah‘s Yasmine Dubois is featured here as well, pitched, pixellated and feverish, barely cutting through the oomph of the sub-bass to haunting effect.

Listen to “Totally Spies” below.

Nothing To Declare will be out on May 27. Preorder the album here. Tracklist:

01. Nothing to Declare
02. Totally Spies feat. Lafawndah
03. Nightflame feat. Orion Sun
04. Anthology
05. Discipline
06. Bless Grips
07. Easyjet
08. Candace Parker feat. Muqata’a
09. No More Kings
10. Capitol feat. Alli Logout
11. Sixteen
12. Spirit Airlines
13. Crown
14. More Victories feat. M Téllez
15. Seven
16. Lead Level feat. Ase Manual

Follow 700 Bliss on Instagram.