Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood’s The Smile announce debut album and share the anthemic “Free In The Knowledge”

Following on from several preparatory singles, The Smile (Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, Tom Skinner) have finally announced their debut album is called A Light For Attracting Attention.

They have also shared a new track called “Free In The Knowledge” – an acoustic dreamer primed for lighters-aloft festival sway-alongs. As Yorke reflects on all the horrors experienced in modern life – both within and without – his bandmates provide a bed of steadily growing synths and the London Contemporary Orchestra add strings and brass. They seem to portray his inner demons, gradually reaching up to try and swallow him with their seductive, sneaky beauty.

Check out “Free In The Knowledge”‘s video below or find the song on streaming platforms.

The Smile’s debut album A Light For Attracting Attention will be out on May 13 through XL (pre-order/save). You can find the band on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.