Phil Elverum has been one of the most prolific artists of the past decade or so under his Mount Eerie moniker and before that as The Microphones. However, he has not released an album since 2009, which is odd for him, but it seems he plans to more than make up for it with two full length albums set for 2012.

The first is called Clear Moon (cover above) which comes out on May 22nd through his own P.W. Elverum and Son label. The companion album is called Ocean Roar and will be out later this year, with no confirmed release date given yet.

The press release for Clear Moon describes the sound as:

The sound is not lo-fi as it is sometimes called. It’s also not hi-fi. These are just crazy recordings, bigger and deeper than any real-life fjord. It’s 100% analog, and it is a sound that can only come from 15 months of studio solitude, crushing tape, riding waves of fake strings, finding new angles on “intensity”.

Which sounds very interesting indeed.

Looking at the track list for Clear Moon below, it appears that the song “Distorted Cymbals” — which was released on 7″ by K Records a couple of weeks ago — will not be on the album. If you missed it then you can hear the stand-alone track here.

Clear Moon track list:

01. Through The Trees pt. 2
02. the Place Lives
03. the Place I Live
04. (something)
05. Lone Bell
06. House Shape
07. Over Dark Water
08. (something)
09. Clear Moon
10. Yawning Sky
11. (synthesizer)