Photo: Ryosuke Tanzawa

Earl Sweatshirt is on a mission in “Titanic”

With his new album SICK! arriving next Friday, January 14, Earl Sweatshirt has given us another single called “Titanic” and revealed the cover art and track list.

Whereas previous single “Tabula Rasa” found him teaming with Armand Hammer, Earl’s on his own in “Titanic” and spitting consistent slickness throughout its two minutes. A much perkier beat, it finds Earl feeling himself as he raps about crashing cars while referencing the likes of 2Pac and DOOM – justifiably putting himself right up alongside them. Earl barely seems to catch his breath throughout the track, but for the listener it’s a dizzying experience – and when he offers “you look drained, you should get some rest” at the song’s end, you can do nothing but agree.

Check out “Titanic” below (or on streamers) and find the album art and track list beneath.

SICK! album art:

Track list:

1. Old Friend
2. 2010
3. SICK!
4. Vision (Feat. Zelooperz)
5. Tabula Rasa (Feat. Armand Hammer)
6. Lye
7. Lobby (Int)
8. God Laughs
9. Titanic
10. Fire in the Hole

SICK! comes out on January 14 through Warner. About it, Earl says:

“SICK! is my humble offering of 10 songs recorded in the wake of the worldwide coronavirus pandemic and its subsequent lockdowns. Before the virus I had been working on an album I named after a book I used to read with my mother (‘The People Could Fly’). Once the lockdowns hit, people couldn’t fly anymore. A wise man said art imitates life. People were sick. The People were angry and isolated and restless. I leaned into the chaos cause it was apparent that it wasn’t going anywhere. these songs are what happened when I would come up for air. Peace and love to Zelooperz the enigma, The Armand Hammer, and my good friends Alchemist and Black Noi$e. Peace and love to u.”

You can find Earl on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.