deathcrash battle life with beautiful brutality on “Unwind”, announce debut album

London slowcore/post-rock quartet deathcrash have announced their debut album: it’s called Return and comes out on January 28 through untitled (recs). Recent beauty “Horses” is on the record, as is new single “Unwind”. On the new song, the band say:

“Unwind was the right song to announce the album, as it bridges some of the heaviest and quietest moments on ‘Return’. It’s an uncompromising rock song. It’s about taking one step forward and two steps back.”

“Unwind” is a gripping slow-motion rollercoaster between the polarities of fragile hope and crushing despair. Tiernan Banks’ mournful spoken musings are at the centre, but deathcrash bring more depth and dynamism to his words through undulating guitar interplay; they flow from crackling Midwest-emo sounds to thundering riffs and wind up at a sparkling atmospheric finale. It’s a torrential piece that takes Banks’ hesitant grasps for optimism (“I really didn’t want to die”) and explodes both the difficulty and the euphoria into widescreen drama.

Watch the video for “Unwind” below or find the song on streaming platforms.

deathcrash’s debut album Return comes out on January 28 through untitled (recs).

You can catch them on Bandcamp, Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, and, if you’re in the UK, see them live at these dates next year:


6 – Bristol, Rough Trade 
11 – Sheffield, Record Junkee 
12 – Liverpool, The Shipping Forecast 
13 – Glasgow, Hug & Pint 
16 – Birmingham, DeadWax 
17 – Cambridge, Portland Arms 
18 – Brighton, Green Door Store 
19 – Margate, Elsewhere 
20 – Birmingham, Hare and Hounds 
24 – London, Chats Palace

2 – Manchester, Fair Play Festival 
3 – Leicester, Duffy’s
22 – Preston, Vernal Equinox Festival