Loma, the trio of Emily Cross, Dan Duszynski, and Jonathan Meiburg, have revealed plans for a follow-up to their 2018 self-titled album; it’s called Don’t Shy Away and will be released on October 23 through Sub Pop. The new album was recorded in Dripping Strings, Texas and self-produced by the band – except for the song “Homing”, for which self-confessed fan Brian Eno stepped in on production duties.

The first song to be shared from Don’t Shy Away is “Ocotillo”, a song that starts with brush-sticks and murmuring bass, forming a whispered but undeniable groove. Before long, the first tastes of woodwind appear, and from there Loma keep “Ocotillo” continually growing, oozing beauty and pomp as they subtly add in more layers. Cross’ vocals are heaven-sent, looking out over the vast plains created by the band, and together with her we sail through it, soon finding ourselves in thickets of wild and noisy brass and strings – utterly engrossed and captivated.

Loma’s new album Don’t Shy Away comes out through Sub Pop. You can find the band on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.