Photo: Kylie Coutts

Angel Olsen announces stripped back album Whole New Mess and shares title track

Last year when Angel Olsen released the All Mirrors she revealed that the songs had all begun as solo acoustic songs, which were later built up into the orchestral versions heard on the final album. She’s been suggesting that she might release the stripped-back versions for some time, and today she’s announced the release of Whole New Mess, which will feature those solo versions of the All Mirrors songs – as well as a couple of new ones.

Talking about the impetus for these songs, she says: “I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that—I’d lost friendships, too. When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment.”

She has also shared “Whole New Mess”, the opener and title track of the new record, and one of the songs we’ve not heard before. Folks who miss the Angel of Half Way Home will be delighted, as the moonshine lilt of that album is in full glimmer on “Whole New Mess”, allowing Angel’s naturally emotive words and voice to resonate with the complexity of emotion and longing she beholds. She examines her actions and how she could have done better, ultimately accepting that she has to look forward and be “getting back on track” – a message that sounds so deeply personal, but could apply to the entire world.

Angel Olsen’s new album Whole New Mess is out on August 28 through Jagjaguwar (pre-order). You can find her on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Whole New Mess tracklist:

1. Whole New Mess
2. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
3. (New Love) Cassette
4. (We Are All Mirrors)
5. (Summer Song)
6. Waving, Smiling
7. Tonight (Without You)
8. Lark Song
9. Impasse (Workin’ For The Name)
10. Chance (Forever Love)
11. What It Is (What It Is)