« All News

Caveman announce new album, stream new song

By ; January 31, 2013 at 10:34 AM 

12 Jacket (3mm Spine) [GDOB-30H3-007}

Caveman’s debut album CoCo Beware was the type of album that grew in popularity due to a great word of mouth. This eventually led to the band being signed to Fat Possum for a reissue of their debut, and now the band has announced that they will be releasing their sophomore record on the Mississippi label.

The new album is self-titled and will see release on April 2nd. The story of the recording is an interesting one, and should imbue the music with a sense of intimacy and camaraderie. As singer Matthew Iwanusa tells it:

“We all went up to Jimmy’s grandmother’s place in New Hampshire, that’s where the new record kind of started. It was literally the attic of her barn, lit up by Christmas lights. We’d all sit in this one room together and one by one we’d all go into the bathroom and record ourselves making the most psycho noises possible. It actually felt kind of like a weird breakthrough. We were all confident and comfortable enough with each other to try out these experiments, which extended itself into the making of the new record…which is really just an evolution of this vibe that we’d been cultivating for long time.”

Our first taste of Caveman comes in the form of “In The City,” a song that takes the quintet’s abilities with harmonies and uses them in their most expansive capacity yet, building and building as the song goes on. Have a listen to “In The City” below and beneath that you’ll find the album’s track list and the band’s tour dates.

Caveman track list:

01. Strange to Suffer
02. In the City
03. Shut You Down
04. Where’s the Time
05. Chances
06. Over My Head
07. Ankles
08. Pricey
09. I See You
10. I Never Want to Know
11. The Big

Tour dates:

ue, Feb 26 – New Haven, CT @ Café Nine
Wed, Feb 27 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair

Thu, Feb 28 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo
Fri, Mar 01 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace

Sat, Mar 02 – Detroit, MI @ Garden Bowl

Mon, Mar 04 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Tue, Mar 05 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Wed, Mar 06 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Thu, Mar 07 – Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
Fri, Mar 08 – St. Louis, MO @ Old Rock House

Sat, Mar 09 – Oxford, MS @ Lamar Lounge

Mon, Mar 11 – New Orleans, LA @ Hi Ho Lounge
Tue, Mar 12-17 – Austin, TX @ SXSW (details TBD)

Mon, Mar 18 – Albuquerque, NM @ Low Spirits

Tue, Mar 19 – Denver, Co @ Larimer Lounge

Wed, Mar 20 – Salt Lake City, UK @ Urban Lounge

Fri, Mar 22 – Las Vegas, NV @ Beauty Bar

Sat, Mar 23 – Visalia, CA @ The Cellar Door

Sun, Mar 24 – Sacramento, CA @ Blue Lamp
Tue, Mar 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent

Thu, Mar 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour

Fri, Mar 29 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Sat, Mar 30 – Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress

Mon, Apr 01 – Austin, TX @ The Parish

Tue, Apr 02 – Denton, TX @ Dan’s Silverleaf
Thu, Apr 04 – Birmingham, AL @ The Bottletree

Fri, Apr 05 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt

Sat, Apr 06 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn

Sun, Apr 07 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
Tue, Apr 09 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat Backstage
Wed, Apr 10 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall

Thu, Apr 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s


Artists:
Tags: ,


Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow Us

Play this site on Shuffler.fm


Latest News and Media

Features More

Facebook icon_twitter Follow



Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media

Blogroll