wild nothing empty estate

Following up last year’s impressive sophomore album Nocturne, Wild Nothing will release a new 7 track EP next month called Empty Estate. The collection was recorded by Jack Tatum in a fit of frustration and inspiration coming off the back of their first round of European dates in support of Nocturne at the end of 2012.

Tatum has released a full statement about the creation of the album which reads:

“This is a record that happened very fast for me. We had just gotten back from a particularly long European tour last November, our first supporting Nocturne, and I was feeling a lot of things. I found myself struggling with what it meant to be a musician, with what music in general meant to me and what part I could possibly play in it. Playing the same songs every night for months left me bored with myself. But when I got home, for the first time in awhile it suddenly seemed that the pressure was off. We didn’t have any tours planned for several months and I started to remember again why I love music in the first place. I listened to Brian Eno and David Bowie for weeks on end and felt like I was hearing them for the first time. I took a trip to Miami with my girlfriend. I visited my family. I felt free to try things musically that I would have stifled before. The songs on this EP were recorded over a 10 day period and are a reflection of this time. Of all the frustrations and successes and moments of peace in between.”

Empty Estate will be released on Captured Tracks/Bella Union on May 21st. You can hear/watch the video for a song from it called “A Dancing Shell” below. Beneath that is the EP’s track list.

Empty Estate track list:

01. The Body In Rainfall
02. Ocean Repeating (Big-eyed Girl)
03. On Guyot
04. Ride
05. Data World
06. A Dancing Shell
07. Hachiko