Photo: Kenna Hynes

Pinegrove announce feature film and career-spanning live album accompaniment, share gorgeous new version of “Morningtime”

Pinegrove released their most recent album, Marigold, in January of this year, and they’ve now announced another new release for this coming January. Although, this time it’s a little different: Amperland, NY is a feature-length film scripted by Evan Stephens Hall, based on a short story of his, recorded by Sam Skinner and directed by Kenna Hynes.

It was filmed in the band’s barn home of Amperland in upstate New York, features 22 live songs, and is said by Evan to be “fun, hopefully poignant, definitely weird.” He explains further that the film is “threaded by a surreal, giddy narrative – reimaginings of our catalogue and first-time-imaginings of Pinegrovian tall tales.”

The album and film come out on January 15, but there will be an online screening on January 13 at 6pm EST, followed by a Q&A moderated by Busy Philipps. Access to the stream can be acquired by making a donation of $5 or more to The Sunrise Movement, a charity fighting for legislation to halt climate change. Buy tickets from Pinegrove’s website.

You can watch the trailer for Amperland, NY below and find the new live version of “Morningtime” on streaming platforms. Scroll beneath the trailer to see the full setlist featured in the film.

The tracklist for Amperland, NY is:

  1. Moment 
  2. Dotted Line 
  3. No Drugs
  4. The Alarmist
  5. Morningtime 
  6. Sunday
  7. Alcove
  8. Thanksgiving
  9. Peeling Off The Bark
  10. On Jet Lag
  11. The Metronome
  12. Skylight
  13. Spiral
  14. Overthrown
  15. Hairpin
  16. Need
  17. Endless
  18. Amulets/Light On
  19. Paterson & Leo
  20. Phase
  21. Intrepid

Amperland, NY comes out through Rough Trade on January 15 (pre-order). You can find Pinegrove on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.