« All News

Wooden Shjips announce new album, out on August 16

By ; May 3, 2011 at 11:11 AM 

San Francisco psych rock band Wooden Shjips have announced their third proper lp, West, which will be released on August 16 via their new label Thrill Jockey. West is their first record to be properly recorded in a studio, with mastering from Spacemen 3’s Sonic Boom (aka Peter Kember) who recently worked on Panda Bear’s Tomboy, and it was engineered by Phil Manley.

West is about “the American West, and all of the mythology, romanticism, and idealism that it embodies”, and it’s their first album since 2009’s Dos, although guitarist Erik “Ripley” Johnson has been busy with his side project Moon Duo in the meantime. Check out the tracklist below and the album cover above.

Tracklist for West:
1. Black Smoke Rise
2. Crossing
3. Lazy Bones
4. Home
5. Flight
6. Looking Out
7. Rising

(via exclaim.ca)

[also published at Birds Need Feet]

Tags: , ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media