« All News

The Antlers reveal more details of new release, Undersea

By ; June 6, 2012 at 10:12 AM 

the antlers undersea cover
Earlier this week The Antlers teased us with a trailer that announced a new release from them entitled Undersea. We assumed (or maybe hoped) that it was a new album, but being only 14 months on from the release of their last album, Burst Apart, it did seem a little optimistic.

Today Anti-, who will be releasing Undersea on July 24th, have revealed that it is only a 4 track venture, saying that it is “an EP in length, but well beyond that in scope.”

The band themselves have released this evocative statement about the release:

It begins in the dream of a peaceful flood. Water covers everything and rises. We take a deep breath in and a slow breath out. Everything is changed.

Time slows and stretches as a connectedness washes over everything. We’re left treading water, backstroking into the future.

Undersea is the feeling of suspension- memories suspended in time and space, energy suspended in the air around us. It’s the serenity of drifting off to sleep or of sinking to the bottom of the ocean. It’s both the comfort of knowing that some questions have no answers, and the torment that we’re never meant to know the truth.

We’ve searched for patient, colorful sounds and found a meditative calm, a persistent pulse that leaves room for everything to breathe and expand as a new world takes shape.

There is no hurry.

A far cry from their last release, the (together) EP then, by the sounds of it. Below you can see the track list and the trailer for Undersea.

Undersea track list:

1. Drift Dive – 4:48
2. Endless Ladder – 8:30
3. Crest – 3:42
4. Zelda – 5:31

Tags: ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media