« All News

Star-studded Buddy Holly tribute album announced; hear The Black Keys’ contribution

By ; May 4, 2011 at 11:38 AM 

Last week Fantasy Records/Concorde Music Group announced the release of an upcoming Buddy Holly tribute album entitled Rave On Buddy Holly featuring an extremely impressive line-up of contributors. Rave On Buddy Holly is due on June 28 and features, among others, My Morning Jacket, The Black Keys, Lou Reed, Justin Townes Earle, Paul McCartney, Cee-Lo, Julian Casablancas, Modest Mouse, She & Him and Graham Nash.

Pitchfork premiered the first track from the album earlier today; The Black Keys’ opening cover of “Dearest” which you can listen to below. Check out the full tracklist below, on which Kid Rock seems like the odd man out, and expect June 28 to see the release of one of the most exciting tribute album I’ve heard of.

Tracklist for Rave On Buddy Holly:
01. The Black Keys – “Dearest”
02. Fiona Apple and Jon Brion – “Every Day”
03. Paul McCartney – “It’s So Easy”
04. Florence and the Machine – “Not Fade Away”
05. Cee-Lo – “(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care”
06. Karen Elson – “Crying, Waiting, Hoping”
07. Julian Casablancas – “Rave On”
08. Jenny O. – “I’m Gonna Love You Too”
09. Justin Townes Earle – “Maybe Baby”
10. She & Him – “Oh Boy”
11. Nick Lowe – “Changing All Those Changes”
12. Patti Smith – “Words of Love”
13. My Morning Jacket – “True Love Ways”
14. Modest Mouse – “That’ll Be the Day”
15. Kid Rock – “Well… All Right”
16. Detroit Cobras – “Heartbeat”
17. Lou Reed – “Peggy Sue”
18. John Doe – “Peggy Sue Got Married”
19. Graham Nash – “Raining in My Heart”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media