« All News

Rufus Wainwright announces Mark Ronson-produced album featuring Nick Zinner, Nels Cline, Miike Snow and more

By ; February 1, 2012 at 12:41 PM 

Baroque-pop superstar Rufus Wainwright has announced a new album for April 24th (in the UK, the US will receive it on May 1st), his seventh full-length, and the follow up to 2010’s All Days Are Nights: Songs For Lulu. The album is called Out of the Game and for its recording Wainwright enlisted the help of many interesting musicians.

First and foremost is Mark Ronson, the much in-demand producer, who showed his versatility last year by producing the Black Lips’ latest offering Arabia Mountain, but should be much more in his element on this release, especially since Wainwright has described Out of the Game as his “most pop” album yet.

Elsewhere Wainwright and Ronson had the pleasure of working with a batch of extremely talented musicians to bring the album into fruition. The album features fantastic guitarists in the form of Wilco’s Nels Cline and Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Nick Zinner; vocalists in the form of Wainwright’s sister Martha and Miike Snow singer Andrew Wyatt; as well as Sean Lennon. Some members of the Dap-Kings were also brought in to bolster the sound.

Unfortunately we don’t have a song to offer you yet. All else we know is that the picture above is the cover art, the track list is below, and Out of the Game is available to pre-order now from his official site.

Out of the Game track list:

01. Out of the Game
02. Jericho
03. Rashida
04. Barbara
05. Welcome to the Ball
06. Montauk
07. Bitter Tears
08. Respectable Dive
09. Perfect Man
10. Sometimes You Need
11. Song of You
12. Candles

Tags: ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media