« All News

Perfume Genius announces sophomore album, gives away new song

By ; December 5, 2011 at 11:39 AM 

We’ve been talking about Perfume Genius’ second album for a while. We reported that Mike Hadreas, the man behind the moniker, had completed his album way back in the summer and we hoped that we’d get to hear it this year. Alas that was not to be, but we won’t have to wait long into 2012 to hear it.

The new record is called Put Your Back N 2 It and will be put out on Matador Records on February 21st. Fans wondering how this album will expand upon his 2010 debut Learning may be interested to read that apparently “Though Learning’s voyeuristic window into Hadreas’s experiences resonated intensely with many people, Put Your Back N 2 It is much more universal, addressing intimacy, power, family, secrecy, and hope, not just through his impressionistic lyrics, but the music itself, which is as lush as Learning was stark.”

Below you can check out the tracklist for Put Your Back N 2 It and download your first taste in the form of “All Waters.”

Put Your Back N 2 It track list:

01. AWOL Marine
02. Normal Song
03. No Tear
04. 17
05. Take Me Home
06. Dirge
07. Dark Parts
08. All Waters
09. Hood
10. Put Your Back N 2 It
11. Floating Spit
12. Sister Song

Tags: ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media