« All News

King Khan & The Shrines announce new album, share lead single “Born To Die”

By ; June 25, 2013 at 7:32 AM 

King Khan & The Shrines

It’s been six years since we last heard from scuzzy garage rockers King Khan & The Shrines–with that being their 2007 album What Is?! on Vice Records.  Granted, they did release The Supreme Genius of King Khan and The Shrines in 08′, but it was primarily a compilation documenting Khan’s musical evolution from his earliest recordings to his most recent.   But now we have word that the band has shifted labels and moved over to indie stalwart Merge Records for the release of their latest record, Idle No More, which is due out on September 3rd.  Here’s what frontman King-Bama Lama Khan had to say about the record:

“Idle No More is probably the most refined piece of music we have made to date. The songs are about the state of the world we live in today. It took a long time to make, but we are very proud and pleased to bring you this album. I hope that the future will brighten up every time it is played. Ultimately, John and Yoko were absolutely right: LOVE IS ALL YOU NEED!”

Khan & Co have also shared the lead single, “Born To Die,” from the record, and with its crunch-y 60’s fuzz punch and searing solos, the band have once again firmly established their rock lineage.  You can check out the track below, as well as the full tracklist for Idle No More and a run of upcoming tour dates.

Idle No More track list:
1. Born to Die
2. Bite My Tongue
3. Thorn in Her Pride
4. Luckiest Man
5. Better Luck Next Time
6. Darkness
7. Pray for Lil
8. Bad Boy
9. So Wild
10. Yes I Can’t
11. I Got Made
12. Of Madness I Dream

King Khan & The Shrines tour dates:
Fri. Oct. 11 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Sat. Oct. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ Culture Collide Festival
Sun. Oct. 13 – San Francisco, CA @ Slims
Mon. Oct. 14 – Portland, OR @ Dantes
Tue. Oct. 15 – Vancouver, BC @ The Rickshaw Theatre
Wed. Oct. 16 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Thu. Oct. 17 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Fri. Oct. 18 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Sat. Oct. 19 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Sun. Oct. 20 – Kansas City, KS @ The Record Bar
Mon. Oct. 21 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Tue. Oct. 22 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Wed. Oct. 23 – Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge
Thu. Oct. 24 – Cleveland Heights, OH @ Grog Shop
Fri. Oct. 25 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick
Sat. Oct. 26 – Toronto, ON @ Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Sun. Oct. 27 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe
Tue. Oct. 29 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Wed. Oct. 30 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Thu. Oct. 31 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Fri. Nov. 1 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Sat. Nov. 2 – Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall
Mon. Nov. 4 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Tue. Nov. 5 – Birmingham, AL @ Bottletree
Wed. Nov. 6 – New Orleans, LA @ Siberia
Tue. Nov. 12 – El Paso, TX @ Tricky Falls
Wed. Nov. 13 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom


Tags: ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow Us

Latest News and Media
Features More

Facebook icon_twitter Follow

Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media