« All News

Grizzly Bear’s Daniel Rossen announces solo EP

By ; January 19, 2012 at 12:00 AM 

Many months back, videos surfaced on YouTube of Daniel Rossen playing brand new songs at what looked like some random gathering in the woods (watch them here). We speculated that they were new songs for his main project Grizzly Bear, but now it appears that he had something else in store.

Although Rossen has worked outside Grizzly Bear before with his fantastic Department of Eagles project, today he has announced the release of his first entirely solo material. The five track EP is called Silent Hour/Golden Mile and comes out through Warp Records on March 20th.

The songs were all written by Rossen, but he did solicit help in recording from elsewhere. On lap steel he had help from Scott Hirsch, while horns were arranged by Ian Davis and Kris Nolte. The EP’s final track, “Golden Mile,” has drumming from Dr. Dog’s Eric Slick.

The EP marks a departure in technique from how Rossen regularly works in his other projects. Rather than be meticulous down to the finest details he decided to leave things simple for Silent Hour/Golden Mile, something he found “very liberating.”

You can get your first taste of Silent Hour/Golden Mile by listening to “Saint Nothing” from it below.

Silent Hour/Golden Mile track list:

01. Up On High
02. Silent Song
03. Return To Form
04. Saint Nothing
05. Golden Mile

Album art:

Tags: ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media