« All News

Eastbound & Down soundtrack to feature The Black Keys, The Slits, Too Short, and more

By ; March 24, 2012 at 6:47 PM 

Fans of the HBO show Eastbound & Down have something else to look forward to, besides the weekly installments of the third season currently airing on Sunday nights, as Fat Possum will be releasing a double-disc soundtrack for the show on April 24th. But, rather than just compile some of the memorable tunes from the course of the series (which has included The National and Kurt Vile), the Eastbound & Down Soundtrack promises something special and (probably) hilarious.

Being billed as “the ultimate mixtape for the new millenium,” this collection features a mix of dialogue from the show and songs “handpicked by Kenny Powers himself.” The liner notes on the album are written by Kenny’s sidekick Stevie Janowski, who notes that the album is “the music that Kenny Powers rocks out to when he’s getting ready in the morning. This is the music Kenny Powers listens to in the late hours, when the night terrors come and we are all children again.” YES!

Among the artists featured on the soundtrack are The Black Keys, The Slits, The Stooges, and Too Short(!). Below we have the full tracklisting from the affair for you to check out and be sure to look for the album next month. (Sidenote: our favorite part of this press release was the note from Fat Possum about their involvement, “had a bump and a vodka drink and this happened.”)

Eastbound & Down Soundtrack:

Disc One:
[1] Freddie King [Going Down]
[2] Make Her Cum [Dialogue]
[3] The Black Keys [Your Touch]
[4] Strangeloves [Night Time]
[5] Brenton Wood [Oogum Boogum Song]
[6] I Sell Kias [Dialogue]
[7] Too Short [Blow The Whistle]
[8] Two Hard Rules [Dialogue]
[9] The Stooges [Down On The Street]
[10] Sucking Your Dream’s Dick [Dialogue]
[11] The Animals [Sky Pilot]
[12] Ram Jam [Black Betty]
[13] Undaunted [Dialogue]

Disc Two:
[1] Lil Wyte [Fu*ked Up]
[2] Los Monstruos [El Monstros, Keep Your Big Mouth Shut]
[3] Fuck You Mr. Schaeffer [Dialogue]
[4] R.L. Burnside [Goin’ Down South]
[5] Whore With A Regular Heart [Dialogue]
[6] Kenny Rogers [Love Will Turn You Around]
[7] Neil, Not Toby [Dialogue]
[8] MC5 [Miss X]
[9] Panochas [Dialogue]
[10] Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra Featuring Nino Moschella [Kiss The Sky]
[11] Child Molesters At Chuck E. Cheese [Dialogue]
[12] Lee Hazlewood [Think I’m Coming Down]
[13] Make A Change [Dialogue]
[14] The Slits [I Heard It Through the Grapevine]
[15] Big Ups/The End [Dialogue]

Artists: , , ,
Tags: , , , ,

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media