« All News

Dark Night of the Soul Gets An Official Release Date

By ; April 21, 2010 at 4:47 PM 

The long-delayed collaboration between Dangermouse, Mark Linkous (AKA Sparklehorse) and filmmaker David Lynch is finally going to see the light of day.

The album was finished and ready for release last year but a dispute with the record label delayed the physical release indefinitely, causing the artists to make the album available online for free.

Since then the Mark Linkous has tragically passed on, taking his own life on March 6th of this year. It’s a great shame that he will not see the official release of this record.

Parlophone/EMI will release Dark Night of the Soul July 12 in the UK and July 13 in the U.S. via Capitol, packaged with several images shot by David Lynch. The album features several high profile guests including The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne and Iggy Pop. The full tracklist and list of guests is below.

01. Revenge (featuring Wayne Coyne of The Flaming Lips)
02. Just War (featuring Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals)
03. Jaykub (featuring Jason Lytle of Grandaddy)
04. Little Girl (featuring Julian Casablancas of The Strokes)
05. Angel’s Harp (featuring Frank Black of Pixies)
06. Pain (featuring Iggy Pop)
07. Star Eyes (I Can’t Catch It) (featuring David Lynch)
08. Everytime I’m With You (featuring Jason Lytle of Grandaddy)
09. Insane Lullaby (featuring James Mercer of The Shins)
10. Daddy’s Gone (featuring Mark Linkous & Nina Persson of The Cardigans)
11. The Man Who Played God (featuring Suzanne Vega)
12. Grim Augury (featuring Vic Chestnutt)
13. Dark Night Of The Soul (featuring David Lynch & horns by Scott Spillane of Neutral Milk Hotel)

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media