Latest News

Sufjan Stevens, Son Lux, and Serengeti announce new album as Sisyphus

By Ray Finlayson; December 19, 2013 at 12:31 PM 


Phantogram announce sophomore album, Voices; listen to “Fall In Love”

By Ray Finlayson; December 11, 2013 at 6:48 AM 


Marissa Nadler announces new album; shares “Dead City Emily”

By Ray Finlayson; November 12, 2013 at 6:17 PM 

Marissa Nadler

Planningtorock announces new album, All Love’s Legal; hear new song, “Welcome”

By Joshua Pickard; October 30, 2013 at 11:47 AM 

Planningtorock - All Love's Legal

It’s been a few years since we’ve had an official LP from Janine Rostron (aka electronic artist Planningtorock). She released W back in 2011 on DFA Records, and the year before that came Tomorrow, In a Year, her collaboration with The Knife and Mt. Sims. Recently, she announced details concerning the upcoming release of her latest album, All Love’s Legal, on February 10th (via Human Level Recordings) — and with it, a video for the appropriately titled lead single, “Welcome.” Check out the album’s cover art above, as well as its full tracklist below. And be sure to check out the video for “Welcome” just a bit further down.

All Love’s Legal Tracklisting:
01. Welcome
02. All Love’s Legal
03. Human Drama
04. Answer Land
05. Let’s Talk About Gender Baby
06. Words Are Glass
07. Misogyny Drop Dead
08. Beyond Binary Binds
09. Steps
10. Public Love
11. Purple Love
12. Patriarchy Over & Out

Broken Bells (The Shins + Danger Mouse) announce new album; watch the trailer

By Rob Hakimian; October 9, 2013 at 12:47 AM 

broken bells after the disco teaser

Back in early 2010 the somewhat unlikely indie super-duo of The Shins’ lead singer James Mercer and producer/musician Danger Mouse came together to form the super duo Broken Bells. Two releases came out, the self-titled album and an EP of cut-offs, both of which were fairly enjoyable, they toured for a while and then that seemed to be it. Mercer resurrected The Shins while Danger Mouse went on to focus on producing for bands like Electric Guest and Portugal. The Man.

But now, out of nowhere, they’re back. Walking through the desert on their teaser trailer while a snippet of a funky future-disco-y new track plays, it seems they mean business. The new album After The Disco is out in January, and you can watch the teaser below.

Mesita releases new album; stream Future Proof now

By Ray Finlayson; October 8, 2013 at 3:49 AM 

Future Proof

Cut Copy announce new album, Free Your Mind

By Ray Finlayson; September 10, 2013 at 3:14 PM 

Basic RGB

Unknown Mortal Orchestra announce acoustic EP, share Dirty Projectors cover

By Rob Hakimian; September 10, 2013 at 12:35 PM 

umo blue record

Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s second album II is one of our favourites of the year, so we’re excited to bring you the news that the band has a new release prepared to be released before the end of the year. Blue Record is a new EP that will be released as a bonus on the re-issue of II on blue vinyl on October 29th. It features acoustic versions of three songs from that album and two covers: Beck’s “Puttin’ It Down” (from Stereopathetic Soulmanure) and “Swing Lo Magellan” by Dirty Projectors, which you can hear below.

Beneath the stream of UMO’s “Swing Lo Magellan” cover is Ruban Nielson’s explanation for the inspiration and release of the Blue Record EP.

Touch of Class Records to release label compilation feat. Tanner Ross, Dave Aju, and others

By Joshua Pickard; September 6, 2013 at 11:04 AM 

Indian Summer

Electronic imprint Touch of Class has got the remedy for your end-of-summer blues.  Culling from their roster of genre-hopping artists, the label has pulled together 12 tracks of euphoria-inducing music that is primed to help you relive the best moments from this past season.  Due to come out on September 30th, Indian Summer will feature artists like Tanner Ross, Dave Aju, Signal Flow, and many others.  Weaving an intoxicating mix of 808 beats, dubby synths, mutated horns, and mercurial vocals, this compilation collects the best of the label and gives each artist their due – which is a good thing as some of these artists have been laboring in the background of electronic music for far too long.  Check out the tracklist for the compilation below, as well as some snippets from the album.

Indian Summer compilation tracklist:
01. Tanner Ross – “Pressure” (feat. Aquarius Heaven and Dina Moursi)
02. Tennis – “Monocraft (Your Love Is Alright)” (PillowTalk Remix )
03. Machine Forest – “Sidewalk Soundwave “
04. Safeword – “Tales of the Sunset “
05. Jamaica Suk – “Forever More “
06. disCerN – “Distant Minded “
07. Kenneth Scott – “Lost Behind her Eyes “
08. LuLo, Caballero – “Prompt “
09. Navid Izadi –“School’s Out” (feat. Jesse Rennix)
10. Signal Flow – “Summer Madness” (feat. Greg Paulus)
11. BE MAJOR – “Something to Lose” (feat. Anes)
12. Dave Aju, Walker Bernard, Kenneth Scott, Signal Flow – “101 South (Take Me Down)”

Laurel Halo set to release new album, Chance of Rain, for Hyperdub

By Joshua Pickard; September 6, 2013 at 10:14 AM 

Laurel Halo - Chance of Rain

It hasn’t taken long for Laurel Halo to establish herself as one of the most forward thinking electronic artists in recent memory.  The Michigan-native has been confounding her fans expectations while simultaneously expanding the concepts of the genre, while also re-envisioning how electronic music can operate and function.  Her brazen and fearless debut LP, 2012’s Quarantine, found the artist inverting traditional electronic tropes and carving out a wide swath among her synthetic musical peers.  But far from the grand, stadium moving statements of intent that are often associated with electronic revisionism, Halo has made a name for herself through the intimate and unexpected avenues that her music often travels.

So when any information about new Laurel Halo material turns up, people have learned to take notice.  And with the recent announcement concerning the release of her sophomore album, Chance of Rain (out October 28th via Hyperdub), she is once again primed to take the spotlight – and conquer the festival circuit — when it drops next month.  Check out the full tracklist for Chance of Rain below.  And keep your eyes peeled for a wealth of dates closer to the album’s release date.

Chance of Rain tracklist:
01. Dr. Echt
02. Oneiroib
03. Serendip
04. Chance of Rain
05. Melt
06. Still/Dromos
07. Thrax
08. Ainnome
09. -Out