« All News

2010 Polaris Prize Shortlist Announced

By ; July 7, 2010 at 9:00 AM 

The Shortlist for this years 2010 Polaris Music Prize has just been announced. The Polaris Music Prize is an anual award given to the best Canadian full-length album, disregarding music genres, sales, or record label. Last years winner was Fucked Up, for the album The Chemistry of Common Life. After winning the award the hardcore punk band donated their 20,000 dollar prize to charity.

The winner of the 2010 award will be announced on September 20th. Polaris also note that there have been two previous winners. Owen Pallet for Final Fantasy’s He Poos Clouds and Dan Snaith for Caribou’s Andorra The Shortlist is below.

The Besnard Lakes – The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night
Owen Pallett – Heartland
Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record
Radio Radio – Belmundo Regal
Caribou – Swim
The Sadies – Darker Circles
Karkwa – Les Chemins De Verre
Shad – TSOL
Dan Mangan – Nice, Nice, Very Nice
Tegan And Sara – Sainthood

For more information about the prize visit polarismusicprize.ca.

[Via Stereogum]

blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media