« All Media

Listen: Orca Life – Suburban Tours Mix

By ; February 19, 2013 at 7:31 AM 

Orca Life - Suburban Tours Mix

Virginia-based electronic artist Orca Life (aka Chris Roberts) has just released a mix for audio/visual media site Suburban Tours.   The 20 minute mix splices together bits and pieces of different songs into a wordless examination of how seemingly easy it is to break down the boundaries between genres.  Never lingering too long on any one snippet, Roberts instead focuses on how each song appears tailor-made to bleed into one another. By jettisoning the vocals of each song, the emphasis is on how the tracks twist and conform and work themselves into a smoothly flowing whole.  Check out the mix below.  You can also take a look at a list of the samples used below the stream.

1. Dirty Projectors – Offspring Are Blank (Orca Life Remix)
2. Coolrunnings – Belewe
3. Walsh – Ruby Spire
4. Julia Holter – Marienbad
5. Holly Herndon – Movement
6. Black Moth Super Rainbow – Like A Sundae
7. Analog Rebellion – Holy Atmosphere
8. Tim Hecker – Rainbow Blood
9. Tame Impala – Be Above It
10. Spook Houses – Try Pt.1 , Pt. 2
11. Touche Amore – Gravity, Metaphorically
12. Cloud Nothings – No Future, No Past
13. Skrillex – Leaving
14. Four Tet – 0181
15. James Ferraro – E 7
16. Symmetry – Behind The Wheel
17. Gold Panda – Marriage (Baths Remix)
18. Born Gold – Sky Bicycle
19. The xx – Angels (Yalls Bootleg Do Up)
20. Heat Stroke – There It Is
21. Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Swim and Sleep (Like a Shark) [Little Dragon Remix]
22. Grimes – Skin (Four Tet Remix)
23. Nicolas Jaar – Why Didn’t You Save Me


blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media