« All Media

Listen: Lady Lamb the Beekeeper – “Rooftop”

By ; November 15, 2012 at 7:46 AM 

By her own admission Lady Lamb the Beekeeper, aka  Aly Spaltro, owes much of her musical career to the 20,000 DVD’s which are housed at Bart’s and Greg’s DVD Explosion in Brunswick, Maine.  In her time working there, she came up with the basic foundation of what would become her debut record Ripely Pine, which is due out February 19th via Ba Da Bing Records (The Dead C, tUnE-yArDs).  Our first taste of the record comes in the form of “Rooftop,” a lean rocker which showcases Spaltro’s muscular vocals and her elastic guitar licks.  Similar in tone to Marnie Stern chilling with Marissa Nadler, Lady Lamb mines the emotional heart of her sound while constantly engaging the listener on a fundamental level.  Try listening to this track without nodding your head, especially to the catchy guitar run toward the end of the song.  It should come as no surprise then that she is opening for guitar-wiz Kaki King on her upcoming tour.  Listen to “Rooftop” via Ba Da Bing’s Soundcloud page below.  Check out those tour dates, as well as the album cover/tracklisting for Ripely Pine below the stream.

Ripely Pine
(Ba Da Bing Records)
01. Hair to the Ferris Wheel
02. Aubergine
03. Florence Berlin
04. Bird Balloons
05. Regarding Ascending The Stairs
06. You Are The Apple
07. Mezzanine
08. Little Brother
09. Crane Your Neck
10. Rootop
11. The Nothing Part II
12. Taxidermist Taxidermist

Upcoming Shows:
Tue. Nov. 13 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge *
Wed. Nov. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Café Live *
Thu. Nov. 15 – Washington, DC @ The Howard Theater *
Sat. Nov. 17 – Durham, NC @ Casbah *
Sun. Nov. 18 – Charlotte, NC @ Tremont Music Hall *
Mon. Nov. 19 – Asheville, NC @ Asheville Music Hall *
Tue. Nov. 20 – Nashville, TN @ High Watt *
Fri. Nov. 23 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Tue. Dec. 4 – Portland, ME @ Space Gallery *
Wed. Dec. 5 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall *
Thu. Dec. 6 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground *
Fri. Dec. 7 – Binghamton, NY @ Binghamton U
* with Kaki King


Artists:
Tags: ,


Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Latest News and Media
Features More
Twitter icon_twitter Follow

Banquet Media

Blogroll